New to DnD, can I get tips? (4e)

Hairy Ban Jhankri

Dammit, I made a post but got logged out, and it didn't post. Alright, so, I am new to DnD, and I need some help from the collective minds of all of you who are into this sort of thing. I got introduced to DnD late Friday night and will be in a campaign soon. So, first, holy shit there is so much stuff. Like, races, classes, feats, powers, abilities, skills. I have only ever played True 20 before, and that is just three classes, and we only played as humans. So, I am at a bit of an impasse, because I have very few ideas of what would best fit my playstyle and all.

My DM and I worked on a draft character that we think might be a good match, a changeling psion. The stats are 10 str, 12 con, 13 dex, 16 int, 14 wis, 16 cha. I don't like to fight unless I absolutely have to, and I try to make my enemies into my allies. So, I was thinking that because I can change into anybody I wish, I would rarely have enemies anyway, and if I do, I can just use a psion ability or roll for diplomacy to aid in making them my ally. However, I was wondering if there would be better options better suited to my play style, or if the stats could be better? The only two races that I have found that might be viable are doppelgangers and illithids. As far as classes go, I haven't really found anything else that might work. Artificer and shaman are kind of similiar, I guess, but that is more of creating allies, than turning enemies into neutral or allies.