Hermit rework idea

Sadhorizon

DISCLAIMER: I AM NOT A CODER, I AM NOT PLANNING TO WORK ON IT (OR AT LEAST NOT ANYTIME SOON - MAYBE SOMEDAY IF NOONE ELSE TOUCHES IT FIRST)

Many, many ghostroles are rather unappealing as of now, bursting with issues. Hermit, while having cooler idea behind it, lacks at some fronts too.

Let's first take a look at how a hermit round plays out as of now:

1. You join it as a ghost, choose species

2. You get randomly assigned a backstory (there is like five of those) and gear appropriate to it (for example, backstory of an NT doctors gives you a labcoat)

3. You wake up, all alone.

4. You start playing. You have a couple ways to do so. You could: hunt, focus on botany, look for help (which is silly but people do that), RP something out and get ignored by miners. There are also some other ways but those are the main one I thought of. There is an issue with those however - they all require luck. If you want to grow something more than little you start with, you need to hope RNGesus blesses you with good weed luck. If you want to get help from miners, you need to basically roll the dice for where you spawn. Close to the base? No? If you want some funny gimmick, besides the previous point, finding some cool gear, either from ruins or legion corpses, adds to flavor (technically you can pray for some things however). But truth is, once you run out of ways to play as hermit, it looses most of its replayability. 

And that's what I mostly want to focus about in here - replayability.

What's my idea to increase it? Adding more playstyles and enforcing them through code!

Whole idea is as follows:

-You spawn as a hermit

-A popup letting you choose your backstory appears

-You choose your species (it'd be done this way, as it COULD allow banning some species for a few backstories)

-You spawn with the gear dependent on backstory, as before, BUT, it is actually changing your gameplay in some way.