Starfinder SS13 - Gauging interest

Keroman

Recently a futuristic/space-oriented version of Pathfinder was announced and released, titled Starfinder.  It seems to use a lot of similar rules but, as stated, it's intended to function in a futuristic or space-centric setting which, to me, just screams SS13.

I've been running D&D and Pathfinder games for several years now on a play-by-post website called RPOL.net (RolePlay OnLine) and I'm considering starting up a Starfinder SS13 game on there.

What is Pathfinder/Starfinder?

Pathfinder is a sort of update to the 3.5 Edition Dungeons and Dragons game system.  Pathfinder is generally more balanced and does a somewhat decent job of making each class shine in its own way.  It's not so different from Dungeons & Dragons 3.5e that you have to worry about learning a whole new way of doing things, and if you find something that you like from D&D 3.5e that hasn't already been ported over to PF then it's usually a fairly simple matter to tweak it so that it'll function just fine as part of the PF ruleset.

All the info you need to take part in a Pathfinder game is listed on the Pathfinder SRD website free of charge, although you can purchase the Pathfinder rulebooks if you want to support the creators.

Starfinder, as mentioned above, is a very recently released version that gives rules for a futuristic/space-oriented campaign.

How can I get started?

If you want to give this a shot then your first step should be to register an account on the RPoL.net site.  They have rules about how new accounts can't join games which are marked as Mature or Adults-Only, but that likely won't be an issue since I'm not planning on allowing anything nasty or weird during the game.